Booknest’s Fabulous Fantasy Fundraiser!

Here is something I’m thrilled to be a part of.  Peter of Booknest.eu has put together a great raffle to raise money for Doctors Without Borders (aka Médecins Sans Frontières).  Every £1 (GBP) you donate gets you 1 ‘ticket’ in the raffle.  (Yes, that’s a £, but don’t worry the currency differences are handled through the site.) … More Booknest’s Fabulous Fantasy Fundraiser!

Review: ‘The Vagrant’ by Peter Newman

It’s been a while since I’ve read anything as original (and yet still somehow familiar) as ‘The Vagrant’ by Peter Newman.  Set in a futuristic dystopia where unnatural, abstract demons prowl a broken landscape in search of…food?  No, not just food…living beings to inhabit and manipulate?  The seven angelic beings who are the last hope … More Review: ‘The Vagrant’ by Peter Newman

Review: ‘The Copper Promise’ by Jen Williams

So, I recently went on a little vacation across the pond to London, England.  While there, I knew that one of my missions was to finally get my hands on a copy of ‘The Copper Promise’ by Jen Williams.  I’ve been hearing about her for quite some time, though none of her books are available in Canada (yet). … More Review: ‘The Copper Promise’ by Jen Williams

Review: ‘Shadow Ops – Control Point’ by Myke Cole

An adrenaline-fueled ride through a darkly-imagined present or near-future setting in which anyone can manifest proscribed magical abilities. Myke Cole’s military and security contracting background serve as fertile ground for this opening novel in the Shadow Ops series, which follows an Army aviator whose budding magical talent pits him against a magic-averse military bureaucracy. Cole … More Review: ‘Shadow Ops – Control Point’ by Myke Cole

Heroes Die Trying

Alright, I think enough time has passed that we can talk about a certain character’s death without needing to say SPOILERS…wait, maybe not.  I’m going to mention some pretty beloved characters’ deaths in this one.  You’ve been warned. **SPOILERS – Star Wars, Game of Thrones, & Shannara (books, and possibly season 2)**   Alright, still … More Heroes Die Trying

The Witch Ring – the latest Legacy of Ash tale

We’re happy to announce the release of ‘The Witch Ring’, a Legacy of Ash tale by Æsc Adams – gritty fantasy in the tradition of George R.R. Martin, Steven Erikson and Joe Abercrombie. *** Mercenary commander Caidris ‘Legion’ Imbratha is no stranger to violence or intrigue. When one of his troopers goes missing in the … More The Witch Ring – the latest Legacy of Ash tale

Swords for Hire is now available!

We are pleased to announce the release of “Swords for Hire”, a western-themed anthology that features three exclusive new Legacy of Ash tales: ‘Weeping Stone’ & ‘Cowards of the Setting Sun’ by James Downe, and ‘Plaincrow’ by Christopher Æsc Adams. The anthology explores fantasy on the frontier, in the tradition of Joe Abercrombie’s “Red Country”.  Tribal … More Swords for Hire is now available!